My Tea Moments

Tea is not anything new to anybody here in India. And yet, many fail to enjoy the sophistication which goes with it. Many people consider it so commonplace  that they miss those magical moments which you cherish while savouring your cup of tea.

I consider my tea moments very sacred. Every cup becomes an escape from the daily routine to spend some golden moments with yourself or your loved ones. I like my black tea in a glass cup so my eyes too can feast on its golden amber colour. The experience becomes a visual delight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy favourite cup which is integral to my everyday tea ritual

Occasionally, I like to have my tea in a beautiful flower designed Cup-saucer set.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“I say let the world go to hell, but I should always have my tea.”
Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Notes from Underground

As for my green tea I have got a lovely Chinese green tea set which was gifted to me by one of my students while he was studying in China.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Tea … is a religion of the art of life.”
Okakura Kakuzō, The Book of Tea

To conclude I would like to share here a very beautiful tea poem which I like very much-

The Tea Party

I had a little tea party
This afternoon at three.
‘Twas very small-
Three guest in all-
Just I, myself and me.

Myself ate all the sandwiches,
While I drank up the tea;
‘Twas also I who ate the pie
And passed the cake to me.

~Jessica Nelson North

 

 

Leave a Reply

